places to stay food & drink business & shopping things to do places to see local life transport & travel essential info
Government Education News & media Local services

The Town of Banff

Town of Banff
Banff was officially incorporated as a municipality in 1990, with the signing of an Incorporation Agreement by the federal and provincial governments. This agreement transferred most municipal government powers from the federal government to an elected town council.

The Town of Banff has responsibility for the Fire Department, water and sanitary waste, garbage collection, collection of property taxes, municipal enforcement, recreational facilities, maintaining roads, sidewalks and parking lots, planning and development, transit and transportation.

Banff Town Council consists of six councillors and a mayor who are elected to three-year terms. The next general municipal election will be held in October 2010.

Council members:
John B. Gibson
Stavros Karlos
Chris MacDonald
Chip Olver
Karen Sorensen
John Stutz (Mayor)
Leslie Taylor

The Town of Banff
110 Bear Street
PO Box 1260
Banff, AB T1L 1A1

Phone: (403) 762-1200
Fax: (403) 762-1260
©2005 -